Decreasing World Suck

Howdy all!

I don’t know why I just went all fictional Texan cowboy on you all, but it happened. I acknowledge it. Now we can move on with our lives.

As some of you guys on the Internet may be aware, this weekend is the Project for Awesome! WOO!

vlogbrothers

Nerdfighters, unite!

The Project for Awesome is essentially a not-so-hostile YouTube takeover started by the Vlogbrothers back in 2007. The idea was to unite the YouTube community to spam the website with hundreds of videos promoting different charities.

In recent years there has also been a fundraising component. Last year the Nerdfighter community raised $1.2 million, which is absolutely mental! All the money raised this year will get split between Save the Children, the Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees and the most voted for charities on the Project for Awesome website.

The fundraiser is also accompanied by a 48 hour livestream. Yep. You read that correctly. 48 hours. Things get a little crazy around the 3am point. Example:

I’ve watched the Project for Awesome livestream and donated the last two years, experiencing the madness that is butFartman and #bananaeyes along the way, but this is the first year I have kicked my butt into gear soon enough to actually make my own P4A video.

My video is about the Australian Literacy & Numeracy Foundation, whichalnf_03 copy is this crazy amazing organisation focussed on closing the education and literacy gap in marginalised communities in Australia. I’ll pimp out the charity a bit more tomorrow after my video goes live and the Project for Awesome officially begins (which is at 1am my time… who needs sleep?)

The Project for Awesome is definitely one of my favourite things about this amazing crazy YouTube community. It proves YouTube isn’t just some corporate revenue-raking monstrosity full of cats, vevo music videos and questionable viral challenges. Don’t get me wrong, there’s nothing wrong with any of those things (except the cinnamon challenge, don’t do that shit) but the P4A really makes me feel like I’m part of something bigger and better.

And also, puppets.

Screen Shot 2013-12-19 at 4.13.13 pm

Don’t ask, I wouldn’t know what to tell you.

It’s weird, it’s worthwhile, it’s how to Internet right.

The livestream starts at 12pm EST on the 11th of December over on the Vlogbrother’s channel, but the fundraiser is already live at projectforawesome.com/donate. If you want to support some great charities and grab some cool perks in the process, this is the place for you!

I might go take a nap now to prepare myself for the coming charitable chaos.

DFTBA Nerdfighters!

Leave a Reply

